top of page

ONE WEEK DOWN

Tuesday marked one full week in Italy, and ironically enough, we celebrated in the most American way possible - finding some hamburgers.

The meals cooked for us at the Villa are exceptional, but all that pasta can really make a girl crave something a little different, so when we found a great restaurant just outside the Pitti Palace, we knew we'd hit the jackpot. Burgers, fries, iced coffee, and white wine? Delizioso.

It feels like we've been in Florence for way less than a week - then again, when we're in class it feels like forever. Beyond taking breaks for meals and church visits, my favorite thing to do in the city is scope out the shopping. It wasn't until Tuesday that I was finally able to make the major purchase I had been waiting on - something leather, gorgeous and authentic, with "Italian Quality" proudly displayed.

I thought for sure my big purchase would be a handbag - and if not leather, then some jewelry - but when Amy and I wandered into a small but inviting shop called Rive Gauche, we knew we'd hit the Florentine leather jackpot. The owner, Stefano Chiari, was decked out in a pale yellow suit with matching eyeglasses, and it only took a few minutes for him to help me find the shoes of my dreams: handmade chelsea boots in the most gorgeous brown woven leather I've ever seen.

Buying my first big Italian purchase was really exciting; nevertheless, it definitely made booking my upcoming weekend in Venice a little more difficult (Italian leather isn't cheap!). Look out for a blog post soon featuring an outfit with my new boots - as soon as I buy some socks to wear them with.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page