top of page

OUR VERY LAST DAY

At exactly 10:00am this morning, we handed in our exams and finished our summer class, Florence: the City and Its Image. Tonight, we attend a special farewell dinner here at the villa, meaning we only had a few short hours to make the most of our time in Florence before then. Immediately after the exam, Amy and I headed into the city for one last roommate visit to all our favorites.

We first grabbed some celebratory cappuchino at a café I had heard about via - what else - Instagram. We were freaking out over the awesome latte art, especially since it was so Florence-inspired. Check out Amy's Duomo coffee and my Ponte Vecchio!

The amount of people staring as we both snapped these shots with large DSLR cameras and even larger smiles was incredibly awkward.

After, I took Amy to the Santa Maria Novella Officina Profuma - it's a 600-year-old store, which looks more like a palace or a church inside than a pharmacy, and the products are just as elegant. We picked up some of the rosewater the company is famous for, as well as some of their signature potpourri for my mom, who is obsessed with the smell.

Feeling a bit hungry after our shopping adventures, we decided to enjoy one final Italian pizza, margherita style. Amy actually had a $10 voucher she hadn't used on one of our previous visits, so we had our whole meal for free - which, unsurprisingly, made it taste even better.

Finally, we ended our visit by heading over to the Ponte Vecchio and the outdoor markets to scout for some touristy souvenirs. I needed some limoncello to bring back to my family (and by 'some', I mean as much as I could carry), as well as a super touristy T-shirt, which I have a valid reason for that I will soon be posting!

We were insanely lucky to have the views from the Ponte Vecchio looking so good on our very last day; at the same time though, it makes it even harder to say goodbye.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page