top of page

POSTCARDS FROM VENICE: BURANO

Once we arrived, I knew at once that I would spend the rest of my life waiting to return to Burano.

Known for being the land of lacemakers, Burano is popular because of the vibrant, colorful houses that line the entire island. Each and every house is a gorgeous bright shade, no filter necessary - we were told that if a homeowner wanted to paint his/her house, they had to write a letter to find out what shades were acceptable to the color scheme!

It felt like we were walking around inside of the Photoshop saturation tool. Seeing how gorgeous this town was actually made me emotional - I totally teared up.

Unfortunately, we only got to stay on the island for about an hour, as the final ferry left just before 7pm, and we had a date with the Peggy Guggenheim Museum to see some Picasso, Pollock and Mondrian. We spent as much time as possible walking the town, crossing the small bridges and photographing everything that we possibly could.

Overall, getting to visit the sensational Burano made our trip to Venice worthwhile, and I hope I'm lucky enough to return in the future. Visiting the little island has easily been my favorite part of my time in Italy so far, and I have a feeling nothing will top it.

For more images of the gorgeous Burano, check out the Venice Gallery Tab!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page